Water flows gently from the fountain outside the studio window. Methodically, rhythmically the water cascades down the fountain. Inside mirrors the calmness I hear outside. I’m surrounded by vibrant paintings of red and deep pink flowers, boats with white sails on blue-purple waves, and blue-green ocean views.

I want to paint the ocean…but not an exact replica of the ocean. I envision blue, teal, aqua, and light versions of those colors. I want the calm and cool, soothing blue and greens.

So I begin to paint. Tentatively experimenting with a blue-green, I add more water to see the effect. The color turns light blue. When I leave the brush on a spot, that spot turns dark. I’m fascinated by the effect of water on the color, on the page.

I relax. The boxes aren’t perfect shapes…they are perfect colors. My mind wanders to the ocean and my brush paints arching strokes like big waves. The experiment is perfectly relaxing.

**

Before my Dad passed away, I had started the painting lessons and shared that new venture with him. He told me about a cousin we had who was an artist. Dad always tried to connect the current event with some event from the past. This was a cousin I’d never heard of who had come from Europe during WWII. Through art, I learned a new piece of family history. Dad smiled while we chatted – that encouraging broad smile.

Dad – this one, inspired by the ocean – is for you!

watercolor-ocean inspiration

**

Yoel Meir ben Simcha, may these words be a merit for the elevation of your soul.

**

And with gratitude to my instructor, Glenna Rosansky – See us at GloriaArtStudio @ Etsy.com

