Mornings are challenging. We “sprang forward” a week or so ago. That is – most of the US did and I did change my clocks, but I’m still on the functioning on the “old time.” My alarm sings its cheery wake up tune. My eyes open and – hey! Where’s the lightI realize it’s still quite dark outside.

I grope around to turn on a light. OK, there it is. Now I can see what time it is. 6:30AM.

How am I going to get moving when it’s still so dark?

Coffee! That should get the motor running!Dark, super-strong, flavorful, coffee…mmmmm!

So I put up the kettle; grind the beans, and prepare the filter. And wait. Soon I’m drinking my favorite nutty-smelling, strong coffee. And the body starts to respond. Eyes are fully open. Arms and legs move in coordinated patterns. I’m ready for action!

Lights! Coffee! Action!*

Now I can greet the day!

 

 

*With gratitude to my friend, Rivkah, for coining this phrase!

