Day Lilies_2010

Almost a year ago, I flew from Cleveland, Ohio to Los Angeles, California to begin a new life. I had lived in Los Angeles for over 20 years, prior to moving to Cleveland in 2004. I had family, long-time friends and an established community structure in LA. Yet, I did not have a place to live or a job.

I left behind a house, friends, and lots of mixed memories. There were fun and happy times in Cleveland. Cleveland is where I began my marriage with Herschel – the excitement of a new relationship, filled with visions and dreams of spending years together. I enjoyed a great career as a technical writer, in a good workplace and connected with wonderful, spunky tech writers.

Yet Cleveland is also a place of sad memories, with sudden endings. My work ended suddenly in December 2008. Herschel passed away unexpected in November 2009. By June 2010, I wanted to move to another level of healing. I was willing to try and put some joy into my life. With massive doses of faith – someone else’s, not necessarily mine – I boarded a plane on June 30, 2010 and flew west.

And I’m grateful. Thank you to all of you who made this transition possible!

Sure, it’s been a challenge. There have been unexpected wonderful opportunities in all aspects of my life. Besides…challenges help me grow, which is the path I choose! Especially when I can grow the write way!

Day Lilies in 2011-courtesy of Shoshana Socher, realtorDay Lilies in their new home 2011
(photo courtesy of Shoshana Socher, realtor)

