I have choices. I choose what words I use to describe those choices, my activities, and my feelings. For example, I can say, “I have to do the laundry.” That statement implies an imperative action without a choice; the connotation is drudgery. I feel constricted, and can hardly breathe. Or, I can say, “I’m choosing to do the laundry now.” No one is telling me what to do and when; I’ve selected the activity and the preferred time. Ahhh – now I’m breathing easily.

Choosing my words also impacts my choices of who is around me – who is on my bus [see Get off my bus]. Do I choose to have the naysayers on my bus? Well, if I do, that might mean there will be a lot of negative talk, gossip, depressing attitudes – in short, “bad vibes.” As my colleague, Robin Sacks, says – “Get off my bus!”

What if I choose to ride with “can-do” people? I envision a busload of upbeat folks, chatting amiably, and sometimes singing heartily. We encourage and empower each other by our word choices. Now this is the group I’m riding with.

Choosing my words impacts my attitude and the people with whom I travel. If you’re a “can-do” person, hop aboard my bus!

We can even choose WHAT our bus looks like!

