I’m not a soccer fan. I don’t understand the sport. Recently, I watched a children’s soccer game and realized there was more to the game than met my eyes! Here’s what I observed:

  1. There were two coaches for each team. Each coach had different strengths, thereby balancing each other for team’s benefit.
  2. The kids wore distinct uniforms.
  3. Each player had a specific role, yet the kids worked together as a team.
  4. The players knew where their goal was and kept their eyes on that goal.
  5. The kids had a great time!

There are life lessons here. To wit:

  1. Get coaches or mentors whose skills and abilitiesĀ complement each other. This leads to a balanced outlook.
  2. Our dress states who we are – dress the part we want to play.
  3. We have a specific role only we can play. Learn that role well…yet relate healthfully with each other.
  4. Know our goals and keep our eye on those goals.
  5. Have fun!

What’s your role? What’s your goal?

