As a teen and young adult, I was a Peter, Paul and Mary fan. I memorized many of their songs and strummed (well, tried to strum), the tunes. It was natural, then, when I saw that my bags were packed, Peter, Paul and Mary’s rendition of John Denver’s “Leavin’ on a Jet Plane” came to mind.

Written in the airport June 30, 2010:

All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go
I’m standing here beside our door;
I can’t wake you up to say “goodbye.”

I’m leavin’ on a jet plane,
Don’t know when I’ll be back again.
Can’t wake you up to say “goodbye.”

Grateful for being a pair
Grateful for the time we shared.
Grateful that you showed me
How colorful the world can be;
Life looks different through your eyes.

I miss you and cry for you.
I miss your smile and loving words.
I miss your loving eyes.

I’m leavin’ on a jet plane
Don’t know when I’ll be back again
Oh, hon, it’s hard to go.

Watch over me and smile at me.
Guard me and take care of me,
See that I have ev’rything I need.

I’m leavin’ on a jet plane
Don’t know when I’ll be back again,
Oh, hon, it’s hard to go.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

With gratitude to Herschel Henkin, may he rest peacefully and joyfully in his Garden.

