Here’s the first definition of “exercise” from dictionary.com:  “bodily or mental exertion, esp. for the sake of training or improvement of health: Walking is good exercise.” Just what I had in mind. I don’t like to exercise. I’m not the one you see walking daily at 6AM. Nor am I the one who braves the cold weather in Cleveland, Ohio, all bundled up to walk, just for “improvement of health.”

However, put me in a warm, dry climate, don’t give me a car, and I start walking. It’s actually enjoyable under these conditions. I do errands. I actually notice the scenery. Walking is a great way to see people as I move along my route. And, yes, there is some bodily exertion so that I can improve my health.

There’s also a side benefit: I now have rosy cheeks (and probably some more freckles)!

