In my last post, I mentioned taking small actions toward my goal. The way I make sure I take those small, measurable actions is by creating a weekly action plan. I keep my plan to 5-10 items. Then I share this list with a buddy, so that I am accountable to someone. Here’s my home-grown procedure:

  1. On Sunday, type up a list specific actions and due dates.
    • For example, “Balance checkbook by Friday, March 19.”
  2. Copy the list into an email to my buddy at the beginning of the week.
  3. Print the list and post it near my computer.
  4. As I complete each task, check it off and enter the date completed.
    • If I cannot complete an item, note date and reason.
  5. On the following Sunday, send my buddy an update.
  6. Back to Step 1.

Try out this method. Let me know how it works for you.

