While traveling through life transitions, including career changes, I’ve learned a great deal about the value of networking and support groups. Speaking with others in a similar situation has tremendous value. Learning about new opportunities through network meeting can really move me forward.

Recently, though, I spent time with old friends (not only in age). I found an incredible wealth of information, support, and camaraderie. These folks have known me for at least 30 years, have travelled with me through many of my transitions, and have often gone through “stuff” themselves. We chatted over coffee or shopping trips; took walks together, and participated in social events. They offered support, counsel, and a fresh outlook.

Lessons learned: Go to networking events. Continue with new support groups. Equally important: remember to spend time with old friends.

