Sometimes I write in order to reach the dark places that prevent me from continuing my journey. Those are the dark places inside of me. Through writing I hope to shine some light on those places. Why the darkness? What is the darkness?

I often discover that the darkness is fear. Fear of opening that bulky, heavy, oak door, adorned with large metal latches. I can journey to that door, yet I cannot open it. What’s behind it? What if I don’t like what I find? The fear builds during the journey.

The fear builds until I’m about to explode. I suddenly remember that I don’t need to journey alone. I can find some traveling companions to make the trip enjoyable. With my buddies, we can help each other along the way. We share refreshments, information, and directions.

My traveling buddies have given me courage to open the oak doors that lead to beautiful, lush gardens. Thanks to all who are traveling with me!

* * * * *

Susan Orion inspired this piece during her presentation at the ABWA Women of Wisdom meeting, September 2009.

