Being in a career transition has been a great time to inventory my surroundings. I have the time to stop and consider:

  • Do I really need these 6 cookbooks I never use?
  • Why am I maintaining 200+ emails in my Inbox?
  • Is it truly necessary to keep the clothes I haven’t worn in a year?
  • And are those performance evaluations from 10 years ago required documentation for a new position?
    I doubt it!

I carefully review the financial and emotional value of each item. The ultimate result is Keep v. Toss/Recycle.

What do I gain from tossing/recycling the unwanted items? Breathing room, organized areas, and less stuff. I’m learning to travel light through this transition. When I recycle, I’m sharing my abundance with others.

And then there’s open space for next great opportunity!

