I often think that reaching out is in pleasant, easy situations. What happens if I’m in a situation that’s a challenge – can I still reach out?

One of the blog followers shared an interesting perspective with me “off-blog,” with permission for me to reprint the comment anonymously.

“I had company from far away that was really stingy with compliments and appreciation. In retrospect, I realized that although I kinda did have those comments coming, being the host and all, how complimentary was I? Did I look for things to praise and make nice comments about? I could have been more generous of spirit too. And despite the fact that some people project supreme confidence and supremacy, perhaps that comes from a need to be be acknowledged as well.”

So the next time we host, maybe we’ll look for opportunities to praise our guests. Let’s give it a try!

