• We sent men to the moon 40 years ago this month. I remember it as a miraculous, wondrous event. Science fiction became non-fiction.
  • Walter Cronkite, premiere TV news anchor person, died Friday, July 17, 2009. As the Plain Dealer reported, “…steady, straightforward, authoritative yet folksy.”
  • And me, interviewed about being unemployed in Ohio with the jobless rate now at 11.1%. What are the prospects?

When I saw these three news stories on the front page of the Plain Dealer, I was shocked. There must be a connection. The moon landing was momentous. Cronkite’s passing is the end of an era. I wondered, “How did I end up sharing the front page with these events?”

Ohio’s unemployment rate hit 11.1% in June. This is extraordinary. What, indeed, are our prospects? All of us unemployed folks are at a crossroads. Will we wallow in our sadness? Or, will we take the lead from those visionaries in 1969 and aim for the moon? Will we follow Cronkite’s lead and become legendary? Will we take this opportunity to reinvent ourselves?

Nothing is coincidental. As I said in the article, “I’m a glass-half-full type of person.” If I’m sharing the front page with the moon landing and Walter Cronkite, then I’m to take my lead from them. I’m envisioning new frontiers. I’m committed to growing my craft and maybe emulate Cronkite’s “straightforward, authoritative yet folksy” style.

A personal “thank you” to Olivera Perkins, the Plain Dealer reporter for the unemployment article. Thank you for your accurate reporting and for championing the unemployed!

